Winners Announced For 2011 Distinguished Leadership Awards

Tallahassee, Fla. – At last night’s ceremony, Leadership Tallahassee announced the 2011 winners of the Distinguished Leadership Awards, as well as honored the recipients of this year’s Lifetime Leadership Award and the Greater Tallahassee Chamber of Commerce’s Godfrey Smith Past Chairmen’s Award.

The awards ceremony, now in its 17th year, serves as Leadership Tallahassee’s major community fundraiser, with proceeds benefitting the Youth Leadership Tallahassee program.  Throughout the ceremony, deserving leaders were honored in each of the following five categories:

Lifetime Leadership Award: Recognizes an individual who has made significant, tangible leadership contributions to the Tallahassee community for more than 25 years.  This year’s winner is:

Martha W. Barnett, Holland & Knight; TLO, LLC


Godfrey Smith Past Chairmen’s Award: Honors an individual who has provided significant contributions to the business community before, during, and after their tenure as Chairman of the Greater Tallahassee Chamber of Commerce. The award was named after William Godfrey Smith, the first recipient; an individual who epitomized the ideals of honor, dedication and commitment in our community. This year’s winner is:

James Elliott Messer, Messer, Caparello & Self, PA


Leader of the Year: Awarded to an individual whose ideas, vision and hard work have achieved significant, tangible benefits to the community within the past year. This year’s finalists are:

Cheryl Phoenix, America’s Second Harvest of the Big Bend


Leadership Pacesetter: Given to an individual who is blazing a trail for others to follow by quickly engaging in community leadership activities – and achieving tangible results – as a relative newcomer to Tallahassee or at a relatively young age. This year’s finalists are:

Sha’Ron James, Florida Department of Financial Services


Servant Leadership: This individual has demonstrated consistent community leadership and begun to achieve results beyond a single field of endeavor, combining efforts in business and non-profit organizations. This year’s finalists are:

Jerry Osteryoung, The Jim Moran Institute for Global Entrepreneurship


About Leadership Tallahassee

Leadership Tallahassee is a division of the Greater Tallahassee Chamber of Commerce and a not for profit 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is to cultivate a diverse network of emerging and experienced leaders committed to improving the community.

About Youth Leadership Tallahassee

Created in 2004, Youth Leadership Tallahassee is a year-long program that brings together a diverse group of high school juniors from the public and private schools in Tallahassee who have demonstrated leadership in formal and informal situations, and prepares them to become ethical leaders committed to active community involvement.

About the Greater Tallahassee Chamber of Commerce

Greater Tallahassee Chamber of Commerce is a membership organization providing resources, tools and opportunities to the business community. As the region’s largest, most influential business organization, the Chamber provides its members with networking, professional development & community engagement opportunities; access to tools & resources; a bigger voice in the halls of government and added visibility. By equipping businesses for today, the Chamber enhances the quality of life in the community, and strengthens the local business climate.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someone