Distinguished Leadership Awards


The 22nd Distinguished Leadership Awards honor excellence in leadership in our community.  Leadership Tallahassee continues the tradition of saluting the best in business, professional, and community leadership with the Distinguished Leadership Awards.  This program is a benefit for the YLT program.

Thursday, September 15, 2016
6:00pm Social Hour
7:15pm – 9:00pm Dinner and Awards Program
University Center Club
Cocktail Attire

Bronze Table Sponsorship:  $1500 (8 guests)
Individual Tickets:  $150 (after August 31, $165)

Register for the 2016 Distinguished Leadership Awards

Tallahassee Community College


Jim Moran Institute    SachsMediaGroup_Logo    Melanie Lee



This year’s Lifetime Leadership Award will be presented to Rev. R.B. Holmes.



Lifetime Leadership Award

This award recognizes an individual who has made significant, tangible leadership contributions to the Tallahassee community for more than 25 years.  Emphasis will be placed on individuals who have made substantive achievements in the career and community arenas.

PREVIOUS RECIPIENTS:  Godfrey Smith, Grace Dansby, Bobby Bowden, George Langford, Kate Ireland, William Foster, Ken Boutwell, Stan Marshall, Sybil Mobley, Ray Solomon, Budd Bell, Alexander J. Brickler, Duby Ausley, Marjorie Turnbull, Sandy D’Alemberte, John Hogan, Martha Barnett, T.K.Wetherell, Al Lawson, Kim Williams, Althemese Barnes

Leader of the Year

Awarded to an individual whose ideas, vision and hard work achieved significant, tangible benefits to the community within the past year.  Such work could include a focus on a particular initiative or project that improved the quality of life of Tallahasseeans.


Michelle Personette, Challenger Learning Center
Jeff Phipps, Orchard Pond, LLC
Dena Strickland, Boys Town of North Florida
Willie Williams, City of Tallahassee

PREVIOUS RECIPIENTS: Carrol Dadisman, William G. Smith, Jr., R.B. Holmes, John Lewis, Chuck Mitchell, Rick Kearney, Kathy Archibald/Mark Mustian, Randy Hanna, Ron Sachs, Henree Martin, Kay Freeman, Bill Montford, Mike Pate, James Ammons, Jake Myddleton/John Parker , Kelly Otte, Cheryl Phoenix, Jim Murdaugh, Vince Long, Wayne Tedder, Micah Widen

Leadership Pacesetter Award

This individual is blazing a trail for others to follow by quickly engaging in community leadership activities – and achieving tangible results – as a relative newcomer to Tallahassee or at a relatively young age (under age 50).  Individuals with less than 10 years of community involvement would be eligible for this award.


Allison Harrell, Thomas Howell Ferguson PA CPAs
Alexis Phillips, Rogers Gunter Vaughn Insurance
Christopher Small, Springwood Elementary School
Matt Thompson, Madison Social

PREVIOUS RECIPIENTS:  Karen Moore, Arnett Flowers, Flecia Braswell, Ken Armstrong, Earle Lee, Susie Busch-Transou, Glenda Thornton, Beth Langford, John Green, Bill Law, Nina Ashenafi,  Mark O’Bryant, Daryl Parks, Kim Moore, Jaimi Wacksman,  R. Jai Gillum, Sha’Ron James, Cecilia Homison, Melanie Lee, Gloria Pugh, Betsy Couch

Servant Leadership Award

This individual has demonstrated consistent community leadership and begun to achieve results beyond a single field of endeavor, combining efforts in business and non profit organizations.  Individuals with 10 to 25 years of community involvement would be considered for this award.


Tom Derzypolski, BowStern Marketing Communications
Mary Pankowski, Law Office of Mary Pankowski
Floyd Self, Berger Singerman, LLC

PREVIOUS RECIPIENTS:  Bryan Desloge, Lane Green, Steve Evans, Gil Ziffer, Glen Davidson, Steve Uhlfelder, Jeff Wahlen, Sean Pittman, Jerry Osteryoung, Michael Sheridan, Lawton Langford, Fred Shelfer, Debie Leonard